h1

Vireo

June 23, 2009

 

Vireos, North American Bird

 

WHEN YOU’RE DRIVING, STAY ALERT
WATCH FOR ANIMALS IN THE ROAD

 

I was on my way to work and I decided to stop at Walmart and pick up some snacks. When I was leaving, I saw a small bird just sitting in the road on my way out of the parking lot. Someone could have plowed right over it!!

I flipped out! (I’m always alert looking for animals in the road, etc.) I pulled over, put it in reverse, got out, scooped the bird up and put it on the floor on the passenger side. The bird looked good – I think he was in a state of shock from a close run-in with a car.

I put my flashers on as I got back on the road. I was thinking where I was going to put the bird as I had to be to work soon. Around my place of work, it’s a 2 mile circle and plenty of businesses that are lined with trees and ponds.

I took the bird to a nice spot around the corner from my work  – a parking lot near the main road but with a lot of trees around. When I tried to remove the bird from my car, it started moving and flying around which was reassuring that it was okay. The bird eventually flew out an open door into a dark, heavy patch of trees.

I am so glad I was in the right place at the right time.

 

If you’re like me and involved in animal rescue, you should have this magnet

